Awards & Achievements


  1. CHEMCON-2022 Distinguished Speaker Award constituted by CSIR-CSMCRI, conferred in CHEMCON-2022 on 28th December 2022 at Kanpur.
  2. Elected as a Member European Academy of Sciences and Arts, since 2022.
  3. STAIR-2021 (Science and Technology Academic, Innovations and Research) Distinguished Professor Award
  4. Outstanding Scientist Award” 2021 by International Research Award on Science, Health and Engineering.
  5. Recipient of  Vividhlaxi Audyogik Samshodhan Vikas Kendra (VASVIK) award for 2020 in  Environmental Science & Technology.
  6. Fellow INAE, Indian National Academy of Engineering, India, Since 1st November 2020.
  7. Institute Chair Professor, August 18, 2020, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
  8. Appointed as Research Advisor, Nan Yang Academy of Sciences, Singapore from October 13, 2018.
  9. Gandhian Young Technology Innovation (GYTI) Awards 2018, received at President’s House, New Delhi on 19th March 2018 for the project titled “Novel low-cost Polyvinyl alcohol-Nafion-Borosilicate membrane separator for microbial fuel cell treating distillery waste water”.
  10. Gandhian Young Technology Innovation (GYTI) Appreciation 2018, received at President’s House, New Delhi on 19th March 2018 for the project titled “Bioelectric toilet: A novel approach for treatment of human waste and generating onsite electricity for lighting toilets”.
  11. Received award from Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation (Govt. of India) under Swachhathon 1.0 (Swachh Bharat Hackathon) under the category Early decomposition of faecal matter for the project “Smart Microbial Fuel Cell-Bioelectric Toilet Technology (MFC-BTT) for human waste treatment, wastewater reuse and simultaneous electricity recovery for illuminating toilets in remote areas”. 8th September 2017, New Delhi.
  12. Excellent paper award and Euro 2500 Cash prize for the paper titled “Domiciliary management of mango waste for power production using biological fuel cell-a green technology” authored by Iti Sharma and Makarand Madho Ghangrekar in the conference 23rd World Energy Congress, by the Scientific Committee and the experts of World Energy Council. 9-13 October, 2016, Istanbul, Turkey.
  13. Gandhian Young Technology Innovation (GYTI) Awards 2016, received at President’s House, New Delhi on 13th March 2016.
  14. Gandhian Young Technology Innovation (GYTI) Awards 2015, received at President’s House, New Delhi on 8th March 2015.
  15. Rajesh P.P and Ghangrekar M.M. Springer award-2015 for the best paper presented in International Conference on Recent Advances in Bio-energy Research (ICRABR-2015), Kapurthala, India.
  16. Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship under connect program for short visit to Germany in July 2013.
  17. National Design Award 2012 for Environmental Engineering by NDRF, Institution of Engineers, India
  18. Marie Curie Fellowship under FP-7 knowledge transfer program by EU, duration February 2010 to July 2010, Ben-Gurion University of Negev, Israel.
  19. Receipt of the Top reviewer award for the year 2008, by the Elsevier Journal ‘Bioresource Technology’.
  20. Marie Curie Fellowship under FP-6 program by EU, Duration September to December 2008. Worked at University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK.
  21. Prof. R.C. Singh Medal by Institution of Engineers (India), for the year 2007 for the paper published in the Journal of Environmental Engineering Division.
  22. Mrs and Mr. Bhupesh Nandy Medal from Institution of Engineers, India for the year 2002 for the paper Published in Jan-March 2002.
  23. Prof. R.C. Singh Medal by Institution of Engineers (India), for the year 1999 for the paper published in the issue February 1999.
  24. Shri. P.V. Patki Memorial award by Indian Water Works Association for the year 1998 for the paper published in the issue January 1998.


  1. Member, International Relations Committee, American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists for year 2021-2023.
  2. Professor In-charge for Aditya Choubey Centre for Re-water Research, IIT Kharagpur.
  3. Member of the expert committee for TEQIP, AICTE, Government of India.
  4. Task force member, Environmental Biotechnology, Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India.
  5. Media coverage of our research work at IIT Kharagpur Express –…/iit-kharagpur-de…/1118991/Business Standard –…/iit-kharagpur-develops-s…

    India Today –…/iit-kharagpur-develops-self-sus…

    NDTV –…/iit-kharagpur-develops-self-sustaina…

    Outlook –…/iitkharagpur-develop…/1281587

    Times of India –…/articles…/63572387.cms

  6. Coverage of the research work by Nature publishing in Nature India on Earthen Pot fuel cell. DOI:10.1038/nindia.2010.116 published in August 2010.
  7. One of the papers published in 2007 is among the Top 25 hottest article published in the Journal Bioresource Technology in year 2007 (Rank 13).
  8. Working as Asia region Representative for ‘Anaerobic digestion’ specialist group of International Water Association.
  9. Nominated as Senate Member (Academic Board, Senate), Governement College of Engineering Amravati, An Autonomous Institute of Government of Maharashtra, in the year 2010.
  10. Working as member for ‘Water and Energy’ working group of International Water Association.
  11. Worked as a member of Nature’s Reader Panel, Nature publishing for the year 2009.
  12. Invited as Chief Guest for Felicitating the winners of the Talent Search Examination conducted by Dainik Lokmat News paper at Aurangabad, 3rd January 2010.
  13. Coverage of the research work done by me on microbial fuel cell in Water21, December 2007, page 64, A magazine published by International Water Association, under the heading ‘Low energy treatment from fuel cells without membranes’
  14. Working as a ‘Reviewer’ for 34 International Journals.
  15. Represented Board of Studies, Civil Engineering Faculty, Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University, Aurangabad (M.S.), India, as an expert in the year 2000 to 2003.
  16. Approved Ph.D. Research Guide by Dr. B.A.M. University, Aurangabad and University of Pune, Maharashtra, India.